This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

DEVELOPERS FORUM - Is innovator suitable for Dataware House like solution?

AshokGopale - Friday, January 21, 2011 12:59 AM:

Background:

I am a Software Developer.

I am using ms access to store my data. for that i have created tables, forms, queries and reports.

I found ms access very easy in order to use it as a DataWarehouse Solution. I think, in fact MS Sql Server is more suitable for this .

Requirement:

I want to compare my existing ms access platform with innovator. Actually i want to use innovator for developing DataWare house solution.

I am evaluating Innovator in order to study if it fits my need.

In innovator, i am searching for a table like structure where i can store my existing database tables. I should able to customize that table structure .

I am searching for a structure where i can define my own queries simillar to Access 2007.

Can anybody tell me if i could able to do all the above mentioned things in innovator and How?.

I have innovator 9.2 installed.

Regards

Ashok

Brian - Friday, January 21, 2011 6:56 AM:

Hi Ashok,

What you have just asked for is covered in the 5 Day configuring solutions course run by Aras.

Yes you can do what you outlined above but it is not something that can be easily explained on a forum like this.

After all if you didn't know anything about MS Access and you asked how to do all of that it would take a long time to explain.

Well the same is true for Innovator.

You can create new Item Types. Every Item Type ends up with a Table in the underlying database. You DON'T normally work with the database tables directly. You use the Innovator interface for that.