4.4 Save and Close

The Aras Office Connector includes a special save command called Save and Close which simply indicates that the user has finished working on a particular file and wants to pass the control back to Aras. When this command is used, the user sees the following dialog:

Aras Office Integration 1.0

The user can write a comment in the Comment text box and this is saved in Aras for this specific version of the document. To understand the full capabilities of Save and Close, it is best to compare it against the Update Save explained above.

Behavior Update Save Save and Close
File saved to Aras Yes Yes
Reservation Lock Lock is kept ON (locked) Lock is set OFF (unlocked)
File in session? File is kept in active Office session File is closed from active Office session
Viewable creation (PDF, etc.) Option 1: Viewable created
Option 2: No viewable created
Option 3: Viewable created if selected by user
Option 4: Viewable created if selected by user
Option 1: Viewable created
Option 2: Viewable created
Option 3: Viewable created if selected by user
Option 4: Viewable created
Remove local file No Optional
Version comment No Optional

Note: The options described above are defined by the administrator and are not user-selectable. Use Update Save (Save to Aras) when you intend to keep working on a file, and Save and Close when you have finished working on it. You can always open the file again from Aras, after you use Save and Close.

Note: If Option 3 or Option 4 is selected by your administrator for viewable creation, the Viewable checkbox is enabled in the Aras Ribbon. This means that you can decide whether or not to save a viewable on the next save. If Option 1 or Option 2 is selected by your administrator, no checkbox is displayed because the process is pre-defined.