The Aras Office Connector includes a special save command called Save and Close which is used as a convenience to indicate that you're done working on a particular file, and you want to pass control back to Aras. To explain how this works, it is best to compare it against the Update Save explained above.
|Behavior||Update Save||Save and Close|
|File saved to Aras||Yes||Yes|
|Reservation Lock||Lock is kept ON (locked)||Lock is set OFF (unlocked)|
|File in session?||File is kept in active Office session||File is closed from active Office session|
|Viewable creation (PDF, etc.)||Option 1: Viewable created
Option 2: No viewable created
|Option 1: Viewable created
Option 2: Viewable created
|Remove local file||No||Optional|
Note that the options described above are defined by your administrator, they are not user-selectable. The point is that you use Update Save (Save to Aras) when you intend to keep working on a file, and you use Save and Close when you are done with it. Of course you can always open the file again from Aras, after you use Save and Close.